~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

My Top 10 Films of 2012

I had a difficult time coming up with a top ten movie list this year… after some debating, here is my top ten movies of 2012:

10. A Thousand Words: The reviews were really bad for this comedy film, but I saw this in theaters and had a good time laughing along with the audience. There were a few hilarious and original scenes that had me laughing for a long time. During a stressful college year, this comedy film was great for me!

9. October Baby: Apparently released when The Hunger Games came out in theaters, I did not hear about it until browsing on Amazon.com. I wasn’t sure what kind of film this was going to be — and that became the biggest surprise. If you’re looking for a different kind of drama film, this is a good choice.

8. Resident Evil Retribution: Another movie panned by the critics, but I really enjoyed it! Perhaps the best Resident Evil movie, the storyline really kept me intrigued (with a few surprises) and I loved the cast of characters (new and old). The ending left me wanting more!

7. Ice Age: Continental Drift: I wasn’t really interested in seeing another Ice Age (since I felt the series had gotten worse) but I had some free time on the airplane and this was one of the selections. Within a few minutes, I was laughing and laughing… this may very well be the best Ice Age film! (I especially enjoyed the changing segments so the film was not too drawn-out).

6. The Hunger Games: This movie was heavily marketed, so I wasn’t too excited to see this film… it took awhile for me to get into it, but after awhile I enjoyed the movie and the message behind it. I know that Battle Royale (from Japan) is very similar, but The Hunger Games is unique enough on its own merit.

5. Les Miserables: This is the 4th iteration of Les Miserables I have seen, and the first time I fully understood the story. I thought the movie was well done and went by rather quickly for an almost three hour movie! The music and acting is spectacular.

4. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel: This movie is really special. Well cast and amazingly acted, it’s a phenomenal drama/comedy, full of life!

3. Premium Rush: I think watching this one in theaters made all the difference. Non-stop action and some really cool scenes. I loved the bike-racing idea and the backdrop of New York.

2. Cloud Atlas: This movie didn’t do so well in theaters, but I really enjoyed it! I was really confused at the beginning, but over time the movie grew on me. The different segments were well done. If you’re looking for a different kind of film, take a look at this one.

1. The Impossible: I saw this in Toronto and could not take my eyes off the screen. This movie is based on a true story, detailing the story of one family who got caught in the tsunami that hit Asia in 2004.  Words can’t really express how amazing this film is.

Honorable Mentions: The Lady, Sound of my Voice, Won’t Back Down, Madea’s Witness Protection

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers