~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Final Fantasy Fanatic [#3]

Do you remember Final Fantasy I? I do. The latest version appeared on the Playstation Portable a few months ago, but I personally experienced it on the Game Boy Advance. Entitled Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls, the hype for this game was very high, and when it was released back in 2004, it certainly sold quite well. The game was a remake of the Playstation One game Final Fantasy Origins, but had additional features. If you were one of the hardcore gamers who remembers playing this game on the Nintendo Entertainment System, then surely you will remember the annoyance of saving. Thanks to recent technology, games have become easier in that regard, no longer requiring passwords to save your progress in the game.
Photobucket

What made Final Fantasy I such a good game was that the company, Square (as that is what is was known by back in the day) put its heart and soul into making the game. The company had made previous games before, but did not sell well at all. This game was their last chance, their last fantasy. But to their surprise, it sold many copies, and ended up becoming Square’s hit franchise.

Fast forward to 1:15. The music is beautiful…

The Game Boy Advance version was noted for being very simplistic and easy- and it certainly was. The story was practically non existent, but what I enjoyed most about the game was the music. This game was awesome to hear with headphones, and the classic songs were very nostalgic to me.
Do you have any memories of playing Final Fantasy I?

 

7 responses

  1. Final Fantasy.. not my cup of tea. lol. I have memories of Road Rash.. do they count? :P

    January 9, 2008 at 3:48 am

  2. Sure! I played Road Rash : )

    I am sure there is something in my blog that is your cup of tea…. ^_^

    January 9, 2008 at 4:40 am

  3. WOW! Now I wanna play FFI! The only FF game that I actually finished was 8 and X…I can’t wait for the new one to come out on PS3!

    PS. Thanks for adding me in your blogroll :) And very very nice comment about me! :)

    January 9, 2008 at 7:27 am

  4. Final Fantasy VIII was an amazing game!
    You are welcome…. I reciprocate : )

    January 9, 2008 at 10:27 am

  5. Pingback: Final Fantasy Fanatic [#4] « Silvercublogger

  6. Carlton

    I guess I’m one of those “hardcore” gamers who played Final Fantasy on the NES. I was very addicted to that game and still consider it the best video game I’ve ever played even to this day (with Fable coming in at No.2). I also played what were called Final Fantasy 2 and 3 on the SNES, and VII on the PSX. So, I’m somewhat a Final Fantasy nerd, though I’ve missed most of the newer ones (except FFTactics Advance).

    I intend to get this remake for my Gameboy Micro as soon as I can find a copy, and once I do, I’ll let you know what I think of it compared to the original. (I sooooo wish they’d put the original on XBLA or something!!)

    March 28, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  7. Yeah – XBLA is awesome!
    I have quite a few arcade games.

    I’m a huge fan of Final Fantasy – I just purchased Crisis Core for the PSP :)

    Thanks for dropping by!

    March 29, 2008 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

