~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Video Games Are Beneficial

A common misconception amongst many prevalent uneducated people is that video games are bad for you, and is a complete waste of time. If they only knew how much positivity there is surrounding this virtual entertainment, perhaps they may give it a second thought.

The common complaints usually one hears or reads about are these:

“But I don’t want my children sitting in front of the television rotting, they need to exercise.”

In response to this common issue, has anyone ever heard of games such as Dance Dance Revolution, Pump It Up, and Yourself! Fitness? These games certainly do require exercise, and make working out more entertaining.

“I can’t afford them.”

That is true in some cases, but now with the popular Playstation 2 at only $129, and many games $20 and less for that system, now is the best time to hop on the video game wave.

“Video games are violent.”

No, in fact only a small percentage are. There are a variety of ratings to help people understand what a certain game entails. If you have any doubts as to a video game’s content, visit the Entertainment Software Rating Board to verify if a certain game is acceptable for the individual.

“My children won’t learn anything by playing video games.”

Once again, it all depends on what video games you purchase for them. Many games can teach them how to read better, as there is text in video games. There are even educational games, such as Trivial Pursuit that can help people with history and geography.

Of course there are many more complaints, but these ones are the main ones I come across. Think of it this way- would you rather have your child indoors under supervision playing video games, or to venture outside all the time and perhaps get caught up in something that could have been avoided? I know video games has kept me out of trouble, and when I have children someday, they will grow up as well with video games.

12 responses

  1. Well said, well said! *applause*

    January 12, 2008 at 4:23 pm

  2. Yay!
    Thanks for the comments.

    January 12, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  3. Pingback: This Month’s Flashback (January ‘08) « Silvercublogger

  4. Well said :D
    This is very true it is based on what game the person buys and if they are mature enough, Video Games are not bad at all, that is if it used properly and responsibly. Some games may seem bad that is because, some video games are made for more mature individuals.

    January 31, 2008 at 5:04 pm

  5. Very nicely said, Nick.
    That is very true.

    As the saying goes “To each his/her own.”

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment! :)

    January 31, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  6. No problem, I have fallen in love with Dance Dance Revolution and it helped my reaction and reflex times, and it has impoved my speed and timing.

    February 1, 2008 at 11:32 am

  7. Dance Dance Revolution is a wonderful game.
    I enjoy it very much as well.

    I recently got my nephew into it,now he wants it for his birthday! :)

    February 1, 2008 at 1:15 pm

  8. Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    I’ll be watching you . :)

    June 4, 2009 at 12:19 am

  9. Lol, thanks.
    I plan on posting more during my summer break in August, usually I post an article a day.

    June 4, 2009 at 12:46 pm

  10. there are both positive & negetive. I think it depend on players.

    February 12, 2010 at 12:50 am

  11. Hey,

    I just came across your blog and thoroughly enjoyed reading it! Check out my blog, http://www.aestheticsofthenerdy.wordpress.com!!! I blog about the beauty and artful nature of all things nerdy!

    -juggler5

    November 9, 2010 at 8:10 pm

  12. Causstem

    Nice article dude! loving reading from ya.

    February 12, 2011 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

