~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Blog Banter [#3] ~Luminous Life Crossing~

In the blogging world, there is only one Hawty McBloggy, my wonderful friend bs angel. She has a “blog banter” where she, along with other fellow bloggers, blog about a certain topic. This month’s topic is:

“What games would you suggest someone play if they wanted to get to know you better?”

This question is certainly very deep, and I spent quite awhile thinking of what games defines me the best. No, its certainly not Halo or Team Fortress 2 because I am not a violent person.

However I recall a long time ago I was playing a few games on Halo 2 with a few of the Cavegirls, and I said “You can tell how a person is by the way they play Halo.” When I said that, one of the girls chimed in “Absolutely!” By seeing each person and the actions they do in the game, it can relate very much to how they are in reality. Such as my infamous “Indecisive Warthog Driving,” which caused confusion. However I am more confident now, so those Warthog mishaps are less frequent. Anyways – Halo 2 is a good example if you have Xbox Live – but if you do not – here are some that really define me, and can be played offline.

When I came to a conclusion on what games I would suggest someone play if they wanted to know me better, I immediately thought “that makes sense.” I could not choose a Care Bear game (even though I wish I could) because I have never played one. So without further ado, here are the games. Enjoy! ^_^

The first game I ever played on the PSP was Lumines. It began on the song Shinin’, the song that began my journey through the game, and also into my life of unique music. I always thought the song had words to it, and just a few months ago I found a video on YouTube that proved there was. The avatars you could select were so cute and perky (I even have one for my Xbox gamertagpic). When I saw the Silvercube avatar available in the game, I thought that was odd but really cool.

The name “Silvercube” originates from when I was a child. My twin brother believed that we were going to create a video game company – just the two (Cube in square roots) of us, and decided to take part of our last name (Silver) and forged the two names together. It was not until about ten years later until I realized that Cube is three in square roots, and that actually it should be Silversquare! But Cube does sound better, so the “mistake” became legend.

Anyways, the reason why Lumines would make people know me better is because its a music puzzle game. It combines two things – music which is essential (especially trance), and puzzles – which everyone has in their own lives. I am in a maze, trying to solve the many puzzles in my life, trying to find the answers and perhaps make it to the “finish line.”

Not to mention the game is amazing, and I have spent only about 400 hours over the three different Lumines games I own. Lumines II was a life saver for me when I was away from home. I spent so much time on that game immersing myself in the music – particularly the song Breezer, and Heavenly Star. Before my memory card was erased, I had amassed more than 200 hours on that one game. The songs in the Lumines games are either mysterious, perky, ambient, or random – all like me. Who can forget when I heard Shake Ya Body, a perky upbeat song that made me laugh hysterically.

It took me a very long time to get to the last song, Lights,but my determination paid off and I was rewarded with a beautiful song. So too in life I am determined to accomplished things in my life, and I hope that what I am doing leads to beautiful things.

In addition, by dropping the squares and making combos, you create a music beat, much like I am creating a beat to my own life. I am creating the combos in my life, hoping that what I do know will lead to bigger and better things. Lumines was and will always be a luminous light in my life, crossing into…

Animal Crossing, the best game in the world. You arrive in a place unknown to you, trying to make ends meet. You meet neighbors and live every day life trying to help and care for those around you. This game is me, because it is the most relaxing, cheerful, pleasant game I have ever played. In the game and in my life I love to help out others, and be in an environment that is supportive, caring, and respectful. The ability to have a job in the game and design your house really made me think of the future. When the game was released September 2002, I played this game for over 700 hours. This game was practically my life for two years. Since it used a real time clock, there was always an urge to check up on what was happening.

There was even a journal in the game in which you could write to your heart’s content. I have so many pages in my in-game journal, and its quite memorable looking back on my entries. My brother played this game as well, and we would visit each other’s houses every day. It was really the only sane thing my brother and I had at the time. We had both gone through many disasters during that time period, and Animal Crossing really helped during those tumultuous years.

Last but not least, is Kirby Super Star. Released in September 1996, I was only a kid when I played this game. (Maybe I still am?) Kirby embodies the ultimate in cute and perky. He is my favorite character in the world (with an exception of Silvercube Care Bear which closely resembles Bedtime Bear).

Kirby is a little kid, and I too am one as well – in the inside. I may be turning 20 soon, but I will always have within me the “Kirby” qualities. I can’t suck in my enemies and copy their abilities, but I can stand up for myself which I have done many times. Just has Kirby has many shapes and transformations, so do I.

I have gone through a few of them, from being a shy child to a more social adult. Kirby moves from level to level, trying to save his village. I also move, but from place to place. 15 times to be exact. Luckily the last six years has been more stable.

What can I say? Games have really made a huge impact in my life and helped me survive. I am quite a sentimental person and will hold on to all of these memories forever. When playing these games, one should feel they are peaceful – just like I am and want the world to be. But if you really want to know me better, you don’t have to play the games I enjoy – you just need to send me a friend request on Xbox Live.. or the Wii!

Honorable Mentions: Final Fantasy VII, Final Fantasy VIII, Pokemon Blue, (Because of storyline, characters, and the environment) Halo 2 (Because of Xbox Live – nothing to do with the shooting part), Dance Dance Revolution Ultramix 2. (My first DDR game, and one that has its own stories to tell)

Peace!

What video games would you suggest I play to get to know you better?

25 responses

  1. JUJEE

    Two games:
    #1:Karaoke Revolution (any of them!) I just love to sing… and sing…. and sing! It kills me when I am playing a different game on line and I just want to sing out loud! I’m always afraid someone will tell me to quit singing! With this new game, I can sing on LIVE and if they tell me to quit singing, they shouldn’t be playing! heh heh! KR is also the reason I bought a console in the first place!
    #2: Anything Star Wars. I’m a big Star Wars fan! Awesome! Knights of the Old Republic was the very first video game I had EVER beaten! I’m also a big fan of LEGOS, so LEGO Star Wars was a big hit at my house!

    February 12, 2008 at 11:20 am

  2. I remember the heyday of Animal Crossing. My wife absolutely loved Blue Bear and she would get nervous whenever our friends brought their memory cards over, because she didn’t want him leaving her town.

    February 12, 2008 at 12:15 pm

  3. Pingback: Blog Banter : Did You Know I Love Candy? « Hawty McBloggy Invites You to Play

  4. Pingback: Blog Banter: Get To Know Me

  5. @ jujee: those are both great games!
    I love karaoke revolution as well.
    I am top leaderboard on DDR 2, and you are in KR: AIE. We make a great team.
    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment : )

    @terry: Yeah, same with me! But some of them left even if you did not do that. I grew so attached to some of the neighbors. Especially the cuter ones, lol. I can’t wait for the Wii version.
    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment ^_^

    February 12, 2008 at 1:08 pm

  6. bs angel

    I loved reading that Silver. It’s interesting that games do in fact help us when we are struggling sometimes, isn’t it? You go to escape and come out refreshed and able to face your issues head on. And I love Lumines as well. :)

    February 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  7. awesome post! i totally feel you on the xbox live part, if you look at peoples actions in game it tells you alot about them out of game too true

    February 12, 2008 at 2:24 pm

  8. @ bs angel: Thanks. Yes, video games provide comfort in a variety of ways.
    Lumines certainly is a unique game, I am happy you are a fan as well :)

    @NyghtPhreak: Thanks! Yeah, very true. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment ^_^

    February 12, 2008 at 3:00 pm

  9. Pingback: Blog Banter 3: Get To Know Me!

  10. Pingback: Blog Banter: Games That Let You Know the Real Me « Delayed Responsibility

  11. deckard47

    You are totally right about the Halo test. I am the ultimate indecisive Warthogger, hopefully that will change. Oh, and now I really have to try Lumines. Like so many other games.

    February 12, 2008 at 3:50 pm

  12. Very nice one! How about Boogie on the Wii… have you tried that?

    February 12, 2008 at 4:14 pm

  13. You need a good warthog driver? That’s what BSB belpers lives for. In fact I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone with so many 0 kill games and 15 assists.

    Great Article…Thanks!

    February 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  14. Pingback: Blog Banter: Getting To Know Me | The Average Gamer

  15. Nicely done Silver :) I’ve asked angel earlier if I can join this blog banter thing she got going on! I’ve been meaning to email her about it since she launched it but never got the chance to…just like adding your friend code in my Wii…ughh sorry!

    Hopefully once angel gives me some info, I can join you guys in the next blog banter :)

    Also if I put in what games say the most about me here in the comment…It’ll probably bomb your blog cuz when I ramble…I go on and on lol

    February 12, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  16. Wow! Just got home from college, so many comments!

    @ deckard47: Looks like you were me three years ago. I know you will get better! And yeah, try out Lumines! :)

    @ BSB boffman: lol, I’m alright with the Warthog now. I can’t wait for the new halo 3 maps in April! You are welcome!

    @ BSB belpers: Thanks! No, I have not tried Boogie yet. I do want to though. How is it?

    @ Valentine: I know you will eventually check off your to-do list, as soon as our list is completed, more are added! It never ends. I hope to see you in the next blog banter, and also as a friend on my Wii. Oh, and feel free to ramble as much as you like my friend. Thanks for the kind words! :)

    Thank you all for dropping by and leaving comments! I enjoyed reading them! ^_^

    I can’t wait for next month’s topic.

    February 12, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  17. Pingback: Blog Banter February: What game should we play to get to know you?

  18. Pingback: Blog Banter: I just called to say I love video games « Video Game Sandwich

  19. Pingback: This Month’s Flashback (February ‘08) « Silvercublogger

  20. well done, dude

    March 18, 2008 at 11:42 pm

  21. Thanks :)

    March 19, 2008 at 12:30 am

  22. Das Kalk

    Well, Silvercube, i would suggest playing Fallout 3 or knights of the old republic (preferably the first KOTOR) seeing as both those games are beautiful to look at, but are deep and rewarding…

    December 14, 2008 at 9:17 pm

  23. Lol, replying to an old blog banter :)

    I did play KOTOR on the original xbox. Not really my type of game.

    If I play RPG’s, I like ’em like Final Fantasy 7 or 8. ^_^

    December 14, 2008 at 9:22 pm

  24. Das Kalk

    well, I figured I should post on one of yours since you were nice enough to post on mine, and I stumbled across this link on Angel’s site, so there ya go!

    See, I was worried about KOTOR, but I warmed up to it fast, I loooooooved it

    December 14, 2008 at 10:10 pm

  25. Awww<(*-*<)

    Well, good luck with your blog :)

    I’m sure I will drop by every now and then.

    Thanks for the reciprocity.

    December 14, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

