~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Blog Banter [#6] |?|Distribution Dilemma|?|

Welcome to another installment of Blog Banter, involving Hawty McBloggy‘s community responding to a topic – this month’s being:

Digital distribution of games vs. buying physical boxes and discs, which do you prefer and why?

I was attending a Halo 3 launch party in September, waiting anxiously for the clock to strike midnight. But at the same time, I was enjoying my time surrounded by gamers at my local Gamestop. What were we all waiting for? The Halo 3 disc of course.

How could we do that for a digital download? All of the fun in waiting for a video game would be gone. There would be no pretty box cover to look at while awaiting to open the disc, no instruction manual to look at…no special exclusive editions.

If all games were to be digitally distributed, we would miss out on all these things. But what if the disc were to be scratched, or if you were to misplace it, or even have your disc stolen? That’s when the digital copy would be preferred, as it would be safely stored in your hard drive.

But then you could not share the disc with a friend – instead you would have to bring over a memory card or hard drive and install it into their console.

There are pros and cons to both distributional means, and you have to decide for yourself what you would rather prefer. Spending $10 dollars on an arcade game through Xbox Live Marketplace is not too bad, but what if Microsoft started selling games for $50 on Marketplace?

Would people still buy the game? I can’t justify it – because I would not be able to sell the game, or trade it in for credit once I downloaded it. Plus, not everyone has access to internet to download digital games – therefore discs will be around for quite awhile.

For those that do have internet, perhaps if the companies allowed us to “trade in” a downloaded game for credit, it might be worth it, but for now, buying game discs is what I prefer and my bookshelf looks great because of it. : )

Check out these other Blog Banter articles! Living Epic, Silvercublogger, Mahogany Finish, Video Game Sandwich, thoughts and rants, weblog.probablynot.com, XboxOZ360, Zath!, Delayed Responsibility, Gamer Unit, Hawty McBloggy

7 responses

  1. I can see what you mean, but I really would prefer a download option at least – I ended up waiting 2 extra weeks to GTA4 when I’d have gladly paid to download that game.

    June 21, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  2. bs angel

    Excellent point about the trading in factor. I hadn’t thought of that. I don’t think you or I trade our games in though, lol … We are both collectors. :)

    June 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm

  3. @ Zath – that’s a good point! Lol, GTA IV would probably take a long time to download though.

    @ bs angel: Yes, we do both collect video games. I don’t trade in too many games.

    I have lots of blogs banters to read! Wow, what a day :)

    June 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm

  4. There is also a vast difference between console and PC games when it comes to this. With a console game, if you sell your disc, you can’t play the game anymore (well, you could have a burned copy, but that requires you to have a modded console, and a modded console can get you banned from their online service). With PC games, if you get a crack, or if the game had no copy protection to begin with, you can sell the game AND keep it. That’s why most retailers won’t accept returns on PC games if the box has been opened.

    June 21, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  5. Well, it’s definitely discs for me. You made a good point of waiting at stores for huge launches and digital distribution could never allow for that. Big launches are what bring gamers together to rejoice for a new game.

    June 23, 2008 at 10:21 pm

  6. @ jason: Yes, console and PC games are different. I’m not much of a PC player though – I like consoles better :)

    @ angela: Yay! A disc fan. I liked your article as well ^_^

    June 24, 2008 at 6:47 am

  7. Pingback: Blog Banter: Hi, I’m Angela and I Like Boxes « Save in Progress

Leave a Reply

