~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Party 93.1 Returns to Florida!

Back in 2002, Party 93.1 lit up the radio with awesome trance, dance, and techno music. A few years back, Party 93.1 was taken over by rock music, which was really depressing.

Well, good news! After a few years off the air, Party 93.1 is back, and in HD!

Click here to visit the official website.

Long live trance, dance, and techno music : )

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to reply.

Here is my personal story about how I came across 93.1:

[I posted this on a forum as well]

Right before 9/11, I moved to Florida, as my dad got a new job.

I was only 13 at the time, and my dad enrolled me in a school 45 minutes away from where we lived.
Anyways, I would get a lift home from one of the teachers, and he would always play 93.1 – but this was when it was a classical music station, LOL!

One day, he was driving home and I was in the car with him. He turned on the radio, and instead of his piano music, party music was playing [it was the countdown premiere!]

He goes what the heck is this? From that moment on I was hooked! When I came home, I turned on my radio to 93.1, and listened to it all the time.

I really loved that there was not too many commercials, and this was and still is the only local radio channel that plays this kind of music. I pretty much HATE any other genre. I WAS SO PISSED when stupid ROCK music took over! SO MAD, you had no idea! I was completely depressed. I did not have any CD’s, I did not have a computer, all I had was a radio to listen to music.

For 3 years, I listened to Party 93.1, every day, doing homework to it, cleaning my room, it was my life. I loved hearing the music every day when I woke up. I was really sad when the rock station took over and thought there was something wrong but I eventually got around to get on a computer and figure out what happened on 93.1. I found an online site [it was 93.1] but unfortunately the streaming music did not work.

I finally got my own laptop in 2007, and when I went online to the site, it did not exist anymore. I was so mad! So tonight, just randomly, I was looking up an old remix I heard on this station [Celia Cruz – Quimbara] and all of a sudden this website popped up!

If I have to make one negative comment about 93.1, the last year was getting really bad on the air. They played that awful song ‘Don’t you want me baby’ so many freaking times. I hated that song. Furthermore, there was these weird mixes that were just awful. Also, there was a radio talk show on Sundays which I did not want to hear. I wanted to hear music like the first two years. Lol, I remember the commercials on TV so well, “Party 93.1 only plays 6 commercials per hour” and there was the song Just Like A Prayer by Madhouse in the background.

I have one more comment to make, and I hope this radio channel stays alive forever this time! I’m 20 years old now, and I don’t want too see 93.1 go away, again. I don’t have an HD Radio, but I do have a laptop.

That’s my story ^_^
UPDATE: The website is now streaming live as of 2011!!!!!

6 responses

  1. That’s a great story. I too started listening to Party 93.1 when I was younger; 16 to be exact. I too was depressed when it got taken off the air.

    Once I found out the site was back I made a fan site, http://www.party931lives.com. I see you’ve already registered. :-)

    If you have any suggestions of anything for my unofficial fan site or even the official Party 93.1 station send me an email from my site. Especially if you have any songs you want played on the air.

    Thanks for your continued support for both my fan site and the official station and keep listening!

    September 10, 2008 at 2:14 pm

  2. Hi Kelvin :)

    Yep, I’ve registered ^_^

    I’ll send you an email sometime.

    If I can make a request on song suggestions, 93.1 should play some Above & Beyond and Oceanlab.

    I also can’t seem to find the live streaming working anywhere.. is it available?

    Thanks.

    September 10, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  3. Online streaming is not available yet, no. It was at first but they are low on money and it won’t be put online until they get more advertisers.

    If you know anyone who would want to advertise on air for amazing prices (Plus a 25% discount from me) send them my way.

    It’s funny that you mention Oceanlab and Above and Beyond. I just got them to play Oceanlab – Sirens Of The Sea (Above And Beyond Radio Edit). I’ll try to get them to play some Oceanic and Satellites. :-)

    September 11, 2008 at 12:48 am

  4. Oh cool!

    Yeah, if 93.1 could play new trance/dance/techno songs, that would be great, to let listeners know of knew artists and purchase their music.

    I don’t know of any advertisers unfortunately :(
    If I can think of any, I will let you know. What’s the demographic you are trying to reach? I remember the old 93.1 ads had a lot of acne advertisements.

    September 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

  5. Panther

    I was looking for radio streams to incorporate into the game Second Life and did some googling on the old Party93.1. So glad to see the website is back up but where is the “listen now” link? I’ve been on the website looking around for over an hour and the “submit a form for help” links just return errors. Until they get their website fixed, it looks like I will be unable to listen. :( If anyone has the stream link , please POST IT.

    P.S. I , too was depressed when it went off the air, it was one of the better things to ever hit South Florida. All you needed was that station and you were flying high as a kite. Nothing could get you down when you were listening to that music.

    July 24, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  6. Hey Panther,
    Unfortunately the streaming feature was taken down as they did not have enough money for it.

    I highly suggest checking out di.fm though,especially their trance, vocal trance, and chillout dreams channels!!

    http://www.di.fm/

    I’m on this site all the time :)

    July 25, 2009 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

