~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

|Blog Banter [#10] {Loading Requests…}|

This edition of Blog Banter asks:

If you could ask for one thing this year from the gaming industry as a whole, what would it be and why?

What an amazing question to end this year. I can’t just ask for one thing, but my requests all seem interrelated anyways. Loading my serious and satirical article…

What I would like from the video game industry is:

4. Developers should socialize with their fanbase, asking them for their input. It’s frustrating playing games that could have been so much better if the developers would just ask gamers their opinions and feedback before the game is released. It’s called a beta, and it’s worth it. No one wants to sit through 10 second loading screens every few minutes.

3. For developers to take chances and create new, original games. Enough with the same shooters. I understand some gamers will be getting Call of Duty: Infinity, but for the rest of us, we would all like something really fresh. Make a game with unique graphics and storyline. Hey, why not make up a new genre?

2. Still waiting for my Xbox 360 Care Bears game. Call me developers.  Yes, it will be a million seller. : )

1. Xbox Live Therapy. For all those crazy gamers on the internet, or for those angry at Microsoft. Or even just Gamerscore OCD.

Happy Holidays!

In honor of the holidays, Silvercublogger is giving away one brand new Dance Dance Revolution Universe Xbox 360 video game. (Dance mat not included). Just comment on this article.

Also being given away for free is one brand new Xbox 360 game, Kameo: Elements of Power. Comment here for that opportunity. Sweepstakes end December 31st. Winners will be contacted by email, so make sure you include it in the comment.

If Blog Banter sounds like your cup of tea, contact Hawty McBloggy. It’s more entertaining than this video game!

Participants: What I want in 2009, The “Roxanne” Edition, Dear Gaming Industry, if the industry gave us all presents this Christmas, Demands for the industry, Santa, Don’t Bring Me Toys I Have To Share, All I Want for Christmas Is…, My Wish for the Year, Crossing Over, Checkpoint Unobtained. errr.,LISTEN!!!, One Wish, Dear Video Game Industry,More games like Portal and Braid, Imagine, Dear Video Game Industry, A Wish for 2009! My Wish For Next Year

13 responses

  1. Are they really coming out with accordion hero? If they are I wonder who would buy it.

    December 13, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  2. I think it’s just a joke, lol :)

    December 13, 2008 at 7:23 pm

  3. bs angel

    I know lots of people who could use some Xbox Live therapy! In fact, I play against them frequently in Halo! LOL, …

    I agree that more developers should seek out interactions with their fans. It doesn’t mean they have to use all the feedback they receive, but it’s nice knowing you have a voice that potentially matters.

    No luck on the Care Bears game yet, eh? Keep on trying!

    December 13, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  4. This therapy idea could catch on. :)
    Yeah, there is quite a bit of crazy people on Halo 3.

    No luck on Care Bears yet, but I will never give up! I have called quite a few developers and companies.. will try again in January (the new year)

    Thanks ^_^

    December 13, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  5. Good point on the developers reaching out to their fans. Bungie has taken many steps in that direction but even still it seems they can be quite distant. I guess a lot of developers take the Joss Whedon approach – “Don’t give them what they want, give them what they need.”

    (That and the main driving force – profitability of a project.)

    Hoji wants Accordion Hero. I’ll take one dose of therapy for my wife. She’s a halo widow (poor thing…)

    Good article :)

    December 14, 2008 at 12:42 am

  6. Thanks :)

    Yes, Bungie has done a great job.

    Looks like the therapy idea is catching on ^_^

    December 14, 2008 at 2:27 am

  7. Lou

    lol @ Dr Phil. Seriously though, there should be some sort of bar for online players; a barrier of entry. Potential users of an online service should face a review of some sort, to evaluate whether they have the right personality to play nice with other human beings.

    It would never happen though. All those douche bags make up the numbers. And those numbers make up the Powerpoint presentations Microsoft gives to potential advertisers and affiliates.

    December 14, 2008 at 5:55 am

  8. One day there just might be a suit filed against Microsoft about Xbox Live..

    December 14, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  9. JUJEE

    I have so many things to ask of the gaming industry. One would be: “Who fights in a battle wearing a wierd-thong-skirt-thing?” (Ming Numara from Lost Odyssey. Don’t even tell me that looks comfortable!!)
    Another: “Who does the testing for DDR Universe games and can I have their job?”
    Yet another: “If you’re going to make a game based off a movie, can you at least make it cool?”
    Last a question for you, Silvercube: “Are you planning on starting that suit?”

    December 16, 2008 at 12:30 am

  10. Hi JUJEE! :)

    I’ll talk to you about that when I see you on Live.

    I like your wishes!

    December 16, 2008 at 5:25 am

  11. Re #3, I don’t think the current market will support developers who take chances. At least at the $60 price point for next-gen games. I do think there’s a better chance for truely original content through XBLA — maybe more developers will concentrate on that.

    December 16, 2008 at 1:11 pm

  12. lol @ Xbox Live Therapy. I would need that for all the Red Rings I’ve seen in the past two years.

    December 16, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  13. @ Terry: XNA games have created some unique games. XBLA as well. Only a small handful of $60 have had a lot of ingenuity… but who knows… it might change :)

    @ Angela: Awww<(*-*<)

    December 16, 2008 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

