~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

My Top 10 Movies of 2008

2008 is drawing to a close, and it’s time for another year of my favorite top 10 movies that were released this year. Just to let you know, my favorite genres are: scary/horror, thriller, anime, drama, and action. I don’t really watch many comedy or romance films, so that’s why there won’t be many on the list.

While I have not seen every movie that interested me this year (as there are a few in theaters right now that seem really appealing), I highly doubt it will change my top 10 list of 2008. If in fact they do, I’ll be sure to update this article.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

10. Mamma Mia!

Why: As soon as I found this movie had songs from ABBA in it, I really did not hesitate much longer! While the film is a bit strange and silly in some parts, it really makes one feel pretty happy after watching the film. I don’t see many “happy” films,  so this was a surprise.

9.  The Happening

Why: Well not quite a huge favorite of mine, I felt this movie was quite eerie. Directed by M. Night Shyamalan (who also directed movies such as The Sixth Sense and The Village), this film has a scene that felt disturbing. Let’s just say people falling off buildings (and the way it was done, and the location) just made it feel 9/11. The movie is about nature fighting off attackers, and in this case, humans. It’s a bizarre movie you will either love or hate.

8. Diary of the Dead

Why: Possibly one of the best zombie movies I have seen, this film takes the zombie genre to a different level, offering an interesting political perspective that was filmed in a way that makes the movie quite immersing. If you can handle a little bit of gore, then it’s definitely a good movie too see.

7. Mirrors

Why: This movie received many terrible reviews from critics, but that did not stop me from watching this film. It’s actually a really amazing movie, mainly do to the environment (a spooky mall that resembles something out of Silent Hill) and an interesting plot that almost makes you scared of mirrors after the movie is over. Definitely an “edge of your seat” experience.

6. Quarantine

Why:  This film started off really boring, but after 20 minutes in, it grabbed me and never let go. It’s a really scary movie that features a “Cloverfield” camera style, and it works quite well for this film. The main actress in the film, Jennifer Carpenter, did an amazing job. If you can handle the first person camera effect, don’t miss this movie.

5. Eden Lake

Why: This film is so bad in a good way! The tension in this film is phenomenal. It’s about a couple that go on vacation and end up encountering a few people that just won’t leave them alone. The main actress, Kelly Reilly, did a brilliant job in this film, as I felt I was there along her, hoping she would overcome the obstacles. This film really seems just like life, and is quite reminiscent of the movie Them.

4.  Transsiberian

Why: No, it’s not a horror film, but a thriller that revolves around the theme of deception. I don’t want to give too much away. But it’s definitely worth a watch if you like suspenseful movies.

3. Cloverfield

Why: Have you seen this movie? It’s definitely a memorable film that really captures New York. The camera effects are similar to that of Quarantine, but features a completely different plot. Here’s a hint on what the movie is about:

2. Changeling

Why: It’s directed by Clint Eastwood. Need I say more? This film stars Angelina Jolie as a mother in the 1920’s, who one day comes home to find her son gone. What evolves from there is an emotional must watch journey that will have you discussing about this film for quite some time. Do not miss this film!

1. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Why: Holocaust films always speak out to me, and this one is no exception as it focuses on childhood innocence. Actress Vera Farmiga and actor Asa Butterfield shine in this movie, and the ending left a impression on me I won’t ever forget. By the time the credits rolled in theaters, the audience was silent, and not a sound was heard for 10 minutes.. all sat in their chairs breathless….

Honorable Mentions: Rogue, The Air I Breathe, The Dark Knight, The Children of Huang Shi, Doomsday, Wanted, Hellyboy II. (More to come!)

So what are your favorite films of 2008?

5 responses

  1. JUJEE

    I’ve seen the Dark Knight and I agree, that was a great film. The kids and I have also enjoyed Prince Caspian this year. (I, because it was full of action and wasn’t animated and the kids because they could sit down and watch it! A fun movie for kids AND adults! My only complaint was that it didn’t follow the book very well!)

    December 31, 2008 at 1:40 pm

  2. I put Prince Caspian on my “watch list” :)

    January 1, 2009 at 7:22 pm

  3. fantastic movies. Have you watched Avatar yet by chance? Movie made me a little light headed but wow, what a great movie.

    January 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  4. Hi! ^_^
    Yeah, I saw it in 3-D two weeks ago, it was amazing!

    January 25, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  5. Finally, received what I’m searching for!! I’ve really having fun in every little bit of this. Glad I stumbled into this post! and also I have bookmarked to look at unique information for your blog post.

    March 5, 2010 at 2:16 am

Leave a Reply

