~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

PlayStation 3. *Echo*

I don’t talk much about the PS3.

It’s strange because I am a huge PlayStation fan. Or maybe was, I don’t know.

My brother got the old grey one way back in 1996 I think. We played Spyro, Final Fantasy, Cool Boarders, Bloody Roar, Tekken and Soul Blade. One of our most memorable games was Sim City 2000. We spent quite a bit of time on that game. We certainly played many more games than that.. and we enjoyed the system.

My brother’s PlayStation was getting old though. The memory card got ruined, some hardware error. I was completely upset as some games we had invested hundreds of hours on were gone…

I got a PS One shortly afterwards but my distaste from this incident lingered on. Still, to this day, I’m pretty peeved at it.

Last year I finally got around to getting a PS2, and have yet to play any PS2 RPG’s. I played the Final Fantasy XII demo but had a difficult time with it as the graphics seemed to have aged.

The PlayStation 3 was released a few years ago (in November 2006) and about 22 million systems have been sold. Not very much considering the PS2 sold over 140 million units. Even the PS One sold over 28 million. I blame it on the high costs. Consumers like cheaper products.

Now almost 3 years into its inception, I still question if I should get one. There’s only one game out I would want: Little Big Planet. Later, Heavy Rain. I don’t think its worth the money just for two games.

I’ll continue waiting….

2 responses

  1. My freind got a one, then sold it 3 months later because of the HIGH prices of, well… everything.

    April 8, 2009 at 7:04 pm

  2. Good to hear I’m not the only one who is not a fan of the prices.

    April 8, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

