~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Can You See Abuse?

There’s darkness in this world. And many of us don’t see it when it could be right in front of you.

Abuse – it’s a hard word to define, and its context is not at all simple. The lines of what abuse entails is so shady it’s difficult to determine when abuse is abuse. Whether it be through emotional – verbal abuse, or physical abuse – and even more terrifying – sexual abuse, it’s traumatizing to the individual and hard to detect.

Many cover it up as they don’t want to embarrass their family or themselves, and others wonder what’s the big deal, saying the individual is just using the abuse as an excuse for their behavior – which I find completely rude when people say that because it’s not getting to the internal subconscious issues of a person’s identity.

Whenever I see a parent hitting their child and grabbing them in a forceful way, especially for reasons that are so stupid – like for instance, not praying, it really irritates me and I want to go over there and scream at the parent. While I can’t go on Oprah and tell everyone to stop abusing their children, I can certainly use my blog as a way to reach out to the world.

When you abuse a child, you are hurting them way more then you think you are. Not just physically – oh no. But emotionally in a very deep level. Many children who are abused have problems socializing and are more afraid and fearful of people, especially to the gender who abused them. Take for instance a father that abuses a child. That child will have a much higher probability of having social issues talking to men.

There have been many researches done on abused children, and the results show scary effects. Children can become more aggressive. But how I see it is a child loses a piece of themselves.  Imagine a piece of paper, and every time the child is abused a bit of paper is ripped away. Keep on abusing the child, and the smaller the piece of paper becomes. When the child is not being abused, it has to take those ripped pieces and try to put them back together again, but it does not fully connect with the pieces that have fallen off, thus resulting in a person with a personality that may be catastrophic in the future if therapy is not given to the child.

I urge every parent  and legal guardian to not abuse children. You don’t know what you are doing to them. How do I know what abuse does to a child? Because I was abused as a child for 14 years. How do I cope with it? You push the pain into your deep subconscious and drown yourself in distractions. Music, education (especially homework) video games, television and movies.. (and for many unfortunately, drugs and alcohol) until hopefully one day you can get some therapy, which I have been doing since I was robbed at gunpoint in April 2009. I was mad that those who robbed me at gunpoint got away with the crime, yet I never realized that my father got away from abusing me all those years.

Just realize you are not alone. And if anyone needs anything, I’m here. But how do you do know if someone is being abused? Well it’s a bit easier when you have been abused yourself. But many are very good at hiding it. It’s really all about intuition, a sense that something is wrong. You might see in it their body language via eye contact or how they talk and interact. Because when their is no signs of abuse on their body, you have to look deeper…

Please visit this link for more info and how to report abuse.

4 responses

  1. I am very sorry to hear that you were a abused when you were young. I think that many people take it for granted that they are not abused.

    June 7, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  2. It’s okay :)
    Thanks! Everything happens for a reason.

    June 7, 2009 at 9:12 pm

  3. chipdasportsman

    Ya, I’m sorry to silver. That was a good post by the way.

    June 10, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  4. Thanks! Good to see you ^_^

    June 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

