~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Electronic Gaming Monthly = Maxim?

Remember EGM? That magazine many of us read throughout the years?

Well, it disappeared a few months ago after Ziff Davis went through some economic issues. Today I came home and my Dad told me that something had arrived. He wanted to ask me about it. I was kind of bewildered by this. I went into his room and he showed me a Maxim magazine with my name on it!

Oh how odd but funny.

Anyways, through some google searching I found out their customer service number (1-800-829-5572) so I called them and told them that I did not subscribe to Maxim. She verified my details, and then told me that there’s been a problem that subscribers of EGM are being reimbursed with subscriptions to Maxim!

Wow. So if you have this problem, give them a call : )

Oh and that Maxim picture on the right side, I was surprised to find a semi-tasteful picture! (For those who are not aware of Maxim magazine, it’s a heavy risque “eye-opening” magazine)

Funny story.

EDIT: Electronic Gaming Monthly is coming back! Here’s the website.

11 responses

  1. Rab

    This happened to me today as well.

    June 12, 2009 at 9:05 pm

  2. Yikes. It’s an epidemic lol.

    June 13, 2009 at 9:57 pm

  3. TimADugan

    This happened to me as well. I called them up using the number you provided and they cleared it all up. The guy was quite pleasant to deal with and knew exactly what was going on (not that he knew WHY people with EGM subs started getting Maxim, but he knew that it had happened and people were not happy about it).

    June 15, 2009 at 4:11 pm

  4. I’m glad it worked out well for you. I don’t know if I will ever get reimbursed for the issues of EGM though, but I don’t mind.

    June 15, 2009 at 5:48 pm

  5. wow that is crazy

    June 19, 2009 at 9:04 pm

  6. Yep! It’s happening to a lot of people @_@

    June 20, 2009 at 8:54 am

  7. foobar

    June 24th. Just got mine. EGM was free for me, but I’ll be calling anyway to try and get a refund. Maxim is just a dumb magazine, that if I can cost them money I will.

    June 24, 2009 at 2:12 am

  8. foobar

    Side note:
    This is the first site to show up if you search for Maxim Egm.

    You’re famous. :)

    June 24, 2009 at 2:13 am

  9. Thanks – apparently I think I was the first one to post about this issue.

    I was still receiving Maxim magazines, so I called back and was able to get $6 for a reimbursement :)

    June 24, 2009 at 9:54 am

  10. David

    Definitely cancel your subscription if you don’t want Maxim. I did nothing thinking it would run out after a couple of issues, but apparently EGM kept my credit card information and Maxim automatically renewed my subscription for another year.

    October 19, 2009 at 6:04 pm

  11. I certainly did cancel it, and got $6 back! But EGM is coming back in December!

    October 19, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

