~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

My Top 10 Movies of 2009

2009 was not the best year in films (but to be honest I did not watch as many movies as I did last year.) From the overhyped and overrated Paranormal Activity (which was terrible) to some quiet releases (Surveillance), there was an interesting mix of films this year. Here’s my pick for my top 10 movies of 2009.

What are yours?


10. Paul Blart: Mall Cop

The trailer was hilarious, and the movie was a nice ride to laugh along with.

9. The Unborn

I liked it because of its unique concept of the “Dybbuk”, an entity not often used in horror films.

8. A Perfect Getaway

The scenery in this film was amazing..the movie kept me wondering what would happen next.

7. Powder Blue

This dark film has a compelling story and features Patrick Swayze in his last film role.

6. Drag Me To Hell

Really scary at times. Not for the weak at heart.

5. Knowing

Some of the action scenes were phenomenal. The story was entertaining and even scary at times.

4. The Box

Don’t press the button! I loved the setting, very creepy. Very deep film.

3. Surveillance

This thriller movie has quite a few twists you probably won’t see coming. Excellent!

2. Coraline

I loved this computer-animated film.

1. Ponyo

I saw this movie a few months ago and the theme song is still stuck in my hand. Miyazaki has created another wonderful anime masterpiece.

Honorable Mentions: Up, 9, Avatar.

Curious as to what my top favorites of 2007 and 2008 were? Check out 2007 and 2008.

3 responses

  1. HAM!

    My wife and I love Ponyo. She even has a Ponyo messenger bag (picked up in Epcot).

    Happy New Year!

    December 29, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  2. Lol! Happy new year indeed :)

    December 29, 2009 at 10:52 pm

  3. looks like we agree on Coraline and knowing, I really want to see Drag me to Hell and The box

    December 30, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

