~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Blog Banter: Looking For Ingenuity

Time’s been passing by, and the video game world in my mind has been quite stagnant the last few years. It seems that nothing quite excites me the way it used too.

With new innovations on the horizon, is it enough to save the vapid state of video game depression that I’m in?

So many games generate much hype, but most games don’t look at all appealing to me these days. Perhaps my personality is shifting towards new tastes in the video game world. Genres I once enjoyed don’t really have much of a lasting impression on me these days.

I recently finished playing Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon and it was the first game in a long time to revitalize my interest in the video game world.  There was something exciting about playing the game, not knowing what to expect next. I found it difficult to stop playing, just a few more minutes, I kept on telling myself.  I miss that feeling.

I'm-ma gettin' too old for this... wohoo! Mushroom... me ah-bored..

I guess I just need to play some more refreshing games. Forget the franchise genre shift, there’s barely been one, except for the ease of saving a game compared to years ago when writing down 16 letter password phrases or completing the game without shutting the power off was the only two options you had.

Enough rehashing the same concept over and over again, and try something new and unique.

This post was part of Blog Banter, a monthly video game discussion coordinated by Terry at Game Couch. If you’re interested in being part, please email him for details.

Check out these other posts:

Next Jen: X-COM
Game Couch: Dark Forces

4 responses

  1. Yikes, I remember having to write down save codes. So glad those days are gone!

    I think I’m going through something similar — I’m just not as excited by the games I see coming out.

    April 14, 2010 at 10:36 am

  2. Glad it’s not just me :)

    April 14, 2010 at 11:29 am

  3. I get excited about games a lot, but most of them don’t quite deliver.

    April 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm

  4. Yeah, me too… *sighs*

    It’s been a long time since a game delivered exactly what I was expecting..

    April 15, 2010 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

