~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

The Summer That Is

In June, I went to Israel with a group. The group was the best part of the trip, as I was quite surprised how nice they were. Nice people are not easy to find these days. Here’s a random picture from my stay in Israel – this is at Rosh Hanikra.

Rosh Hanikra

I left going to Israel knowing one of my closest friends was going through a rough time. His dad was terminally ill. I found out during the trip that he had passed away, and became a bit depressed. I was not back home to be with my friend – and I tried my best to enjoy Israel, though it wasn’t easy. I guess sometimes you can’t be there for everything, and my friend wanted me to have a good time in Israel.

When I came home, I started training to become a Guardian ad Litem. A Guardian ad Litem is an adult appointed by the court to be a voice for a child (advocate for the child’s best interests) who is dependent on the state’s services in transitioning from a temporary or permanent home due to the child being abandoned, abused, or neglected. I am currently 1/3 finished with my training.

Additionally, I just found out that I will be a Graduate Assistant (GA) beginning at the end of August. The job is only 10 hours a week at my university, as they want all GA’s to focus on their PhD’s. I was told becoming a GA would be difficult as many students had applied, so I am thankful that I was given the opportunity to be a GA.

Next month, I will be going to New York to attend a friend’s wedding. Meanwhile, I am going to continue my PhD preparation, work on having a reunion with my group from Israel, and finish training to become a Guardian ad Litem. This is the summer that is, and the summer is going well for me. Sadly can’t say the same for all of my friends, but each of us have our moments. To more good times!

Leave a Reply

