~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

My Top 5 Video Games of 2013

As my PhD program is my #1 priority, the games I play become more critical.  Usually, I have a top 10 list of my favorite video games of the year. But I couldn’t justify having ten games listed as “top” for a number of reasons. In the past, I have been a little lenient in letting some games fit my top 10 list (particularly in 2008 and 2009) just to fill a number quota. Well, starting now, not anymore!

Here are my top 5 video games of 2013:

5. Beyond Two Souls: While I didn’t particularly enjoy the timeline of how the game was established, it did draw me in and provided many new ideas I hadn’t seen before.

4. The Last of Us: I did not want to shut off my PS3 while playing this game. I don’t enjoy shooting games too much anymore, but this game breathed some new life into the tiring genre by providing a unique story and stunning environments.

3. Tomb Raider: I never really enjoyed the Tomb Raider series as I found the previous games to be too frustrating and confusing. This relaunch drew me in and there were some moments which really took your breath away.

2. Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons: If you can get past the control issue, this game takes you on a journey that is filled with surprises. This game is the reason why I enjoy playing video games so much — it presents a world where you can escape into and connect with.

1. Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch: This role playing game from Japan is my favorite game of the year. Spirited Away is my favorite movie, and I hoped one day I would play a game with similar graphics. I look forward to seeing more collaborations between Studio Ghibli (who made Spirited Away) and Level 5.

Honorable Mentions: Remember Me, Animal Crossing New Leaf, Tearaway, and Dead or Alive 5 Ultimate.

Note: I do not own a Wii U, Xbox One, or Playstation 4 as of this writing, so my top games reflect the systems I own. Furthermore, while sequels or games in a genre (such as RPG) may be phenomenal, I looked for completely new experiences this year and this list reflects that.  The game I would like to play the most out of the three systems I do not own would probably be The Wonderful 101 on Wii U.

Leave a Reply

