~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

2015: A Look Back and Brief Preview of the Future

11416181_10154011816505348_8202758970446216374_n

As 2015 soon comes to a conclusion, a brief look back into the year for any curious readers (and for my own memory) is presented below.

The beginning of January started off with a social justice trip to Thailand, where I visited Bangkok, Chiang Mai, and Chiang Rai. I volunteered as a teacher, learned more about human trafficking and visited a shelter, and did so much more (which would take too long to write).

In May, I went to Poland and Germany via March of Remembrance and Hope, which is open to Canadian university students (exceptions can be made if you are in university outside of Canada as long as you are Canadian). If you would like to apply (applications are available until January 15), you can check out the website here. Meeting more Canadian students from multicultural backgrounds and learning additional information about the Holocaust and genocide was an experience that really brought the journey of my PhD to a deeper level.

In August, I went to South Africa, where I was in Cape Town, Johannesburg, and Kruger National Park! I learned more about HIV/AIDS, visited a few townships (such as Alexandra, where Nelson Mandela once lived), and also spent time in Lillydale helping paint a building and working with young children and visiting families.

In September, I took my PhD qualifying exams and passed! I am currently working on my dissertation proposal with aims of defending this January and graduating in 2016 (this upcoming year)!

In November, I had a reunion with fellow March of Remembrance and Hope participants in Christian Island in Canada. Meeting people from the First Nation in the island was an emotional experience and the short time I was there left an impact and I hope to visit again someday.

In December, I visited Montreal for the first time, and really enjoyed Old Montreal. Hopefully I will go back during the summer in the next few years to see the city in a different season.

2015 was a hectic year (hence my lack of published articles). I imagine 2016 will also be a similar year of posting activity as I continue working on my dissertation.

Due to the lack of playing many video games this year, a top list of my favorite 2015 video games will not be published. I do plan on playing the new Tomb Raider game that was recently released next month. Hopefully it won’t be too long so I can get back to work.  A short break is always healthy though!

I may post a list of my favorite movies of 2015 down the road.. though I do not believe I even posted one for 2014. I might combine them into one post for a future article.

For 2016, I am looking forward to graduating and becoming “Dr.”. On a separate note, I will also be meeting Above & Beyond (my favorite music artists, who so also happen to be 3/4 of Oceanlab) during their acoustic concert! I am not sure what else is upcoming, though I see a positive outlook and continued growth.
Anyways, wishing you all a happy and healthy 2016 and the best with all of your endeavors!

P.S. Happy belated 8th anniversary to my blog, Silver.Peace, which was on Dec. 3!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

