~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

|Blog Banter [#7] {Don’t Blockbuster My Game}|

This episode of Blog Banter asks the question:

Does every game need to be a grade-A blockbuster title? Would you be willing to play more average games or should every game shoot for the 10.0 rating?

When developers start brainstorming ideas, I’m not quite sure if anyone has in mind that it’s going to be a “10” – in fact, what developers are doing is making a game for an audience. A selected audience to gamers who are interested in a particular genre.

Take Call of Duty 4, a game that received many “10” ratings, but if I were to rate it, I would give it a “4”. Why? Because the game does not interest me. I played the game and was bored out of my mind. I am also not a fan of realistic shooters either. Yet, it scored many “10’s”.

Now exactly what are ratings anyways? How do we let numbers determine if a game is worth playing or purchasing? Numbers really should not define a video game’s appeal. If you see a game get a “7”, don’t ignore it.

You have to remember that all these ratings are personal opinions. Some of my favorite games never get rated “10’s”. Games like Cubivore, Animal Crossing, Dance Dance Revolution, and Lumines. Yet I would rate them a “10”.

No developer should ever shoot for a “10” because it’s not possible. Instead, a developer should listen to their fanbase and make a game that they would like. Developers who do this will certainly get high ratings from those who enjoy the genre. Genre is a very important aspect, because many games can get “10’s”, but if it’s not a genre a gamer is interested in, it’s not going to appeal to them, and will subsequently get lower ratings.

I am willing to play any game from any genre I like. The only issue would be graphics. As long as they are not grainy, and have a welcoming visual style, I would definitely play it. I want to be absorbed into a world, so if a video game can do that, it’s a “10” for me.

Does your favorite video games get “10” ratings from the video game industry?

Blog Banter is made possible by Hawty Mcbloggy’s community and Game Couch’s coordination, and viewers like you. For more information on how to join Blog Banter, or to suggest a topic for Blog Banter, click me!

Participants : Zath!, Delayed Responsibility, Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Game Couch

Conversation pieces: Silvercublogger,Game Couch.

15 responses

  1. deckard47

    You make good points I wish I’d made. I’ve come to love those bad boy 7’s, asking to be played from underneath Halo 3 and Bioshock. Nice post.

    August 21, 2008 at 10:31 am

  2. Love your title Silvercube. SO far I think we’re all agreeing with each other in one way or another.

    August 21, 2008 at 10:39 am

  3. @ deckard47: thanks! yeah, those “7’s” usually become my “10’s” lol.

    @ Crazykinux: Thanks! I’ll be checking out your article and everyone else’s very soon :)

    August 21, 2008 at 10:58 am

  4. Who wouldn’t give Animal Crossing a 10? It’s interesting to read what you want in a game. For me, I want the game to have a clear vision and I want gameplay connected to the story.

    August 21, 2008 at 11:57 am

  5. Lol, we would give Animal Crossing a 10. I have yet too see other video game journalists do so. :)

    August 21, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  6. deckard47

    Here I’m definitely with Terry. If a game has strong ideas and remains true to them through gameplay and story, it can mess up in a million other ways and I’ll still love it.

    August 21, 2008 at 1:29 pm

  7. Pingback: Blog Banter: A-List Games - Should All Games Aspire?

  8. Angela

    Recently, Too Human came out for the 360 and it’s been getting mediocre reviews. But from what my boyfriend and Kevin Pereira from G4 think, it’s an awesome game! I agree with your post, a game might be a 10 to someone else, but a 5 to me.

    August 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  9. @ deckard47: Yeah.. those are good elements, but not all genres need a story to make it a good game.

    @ Angela: Hey:)
    Yeah, I plan on picking up Too Human sometime to play some co-op.

    August 22, 2008 at 7:39 pm

  10. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

    September 10, 2009 at 9:14 am

  11. Thanks Sandra! ^_^

    September 10, 2009 at 10:52 am

  12. Sign: yyams Hello!!! punht and 843dhursyvpxd and 7004 My Comments: Cool!

    September 21, 2009 at 12:51 pm

  13. Sign: gfndc Hello!!! vwamh and 2583anwngrhvry and 1022 : Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post! nice! I just came across your blog and wanted to say that Ive really enjoyed it.

    October 7, 2009 at 1:33 pm

  14. ]Lewisville yoga

    April 7, 2011 at 7:40 pm

  15. ]Gym Fairfax

    April 9, 2011 at 7:45 am

Leave a comment