~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Gamer Banter: It’s All About Integrity

This month’s topic asks “What is the worst game you’ve ever played?”

I had a difficult time responding to this question as I’ve played quite a few terrible games. But should I criticize an Indie Game on the Xbox Marketplace? Or a Mini game from the Playstation Network? Or would it be more fair to say that the worst game I write about can only be something developed by a big company?

Well what makes a terrible game anyways? Is it a game that just does not interest me and is over-rated? (*ahem* – Madden). Or a game that does interest me but is just terrible to play? (Countless Wii games, thanks to unresponsive controls).

After thinking for awhile, the worst game I’ve ever played would have to be something that fools a consumer. When a game takes advantage of someone by a misleading cover and/or game detail information, or making a consumer purchase something that’s already on the disc.

Even worse, when a gaming magazine even mentions in a review that a game has something, when in fact, it does not. So therefore, in the end Sword of Mana gets my vote as worst game I’ve ever played. My brother and I were so excited about this game and purchased two copies on day one after reading a review from a respectable gaming magazine (*ahem* Game Informer,  Issue # 129) that said it had co-op in both reviews [liars!] (and even the box information hinted to this – shown on the back cover, which unfortunately could not find on the internet).

When a gaming magazine lies in two reviews (apparently second opinion is no better than the first opinion!) and the box information is not being fully truthful, that’s when a game is the worst to me. Read a little here about what the issue was (third paragraph down). Most disappointing moment ever. Since that January 2004 debacle, it’s made me become a huge fan of renting games – thanks Gamefly and Blockbuster – and not fully trusting gaming magazines and game detail information ever again.

Hmm.. oh hi Game Informer, did you guys actually play the game?

This post was part of Gamer Banter, a monthly video game discussion coordinated by Terry at Game Couch. If you’re interested in being part, please email him for details.

6 responses

  1. Terry

    Wow, I would have been so pissed! Good pic!

    August 26, 2010 at 11:46 am

  2. yeah i agree with you, I hate it when they lie about a game just so they can get people to buy it. Love the article

    August 26, 2010 at 12:18 pm

  3. Ugh, that’s terrible! I was a fan of the original Sword of Mana, so reading that one of my favourites did something so terrible makes me shed a little tear.

    August 26, 2010 at 8:31 pm

  4. Extremely good call, I remember a great deal of people being disappointed by Sword of Mana. It’s such a shame that it’s had such a profound effect on your game purchases ever since though.

    Very interesting points about what makes a terrible game also, I would have loved you to expand on that idea a bit more too.

    August 27, 2010 at 3:00 am


  5. Box cover rear on GameFAQs

    Yup, I can totally understand you thinking that “Linking features require a Game Boy Advance Game Link cable” to be confirmation of the reviewer’s lie. It also says things like “A hero and heroine must come together” and “Experience the saga of these two heroes”. Terribly misleading writing there.

    August 27, 2010 at 6:34 am

  6. Thanks for the photo of the back cover, weefz!
    Thanks for the comments!!

    Been sick the last 2 days, will try and read everyone’s banters when I have the energy :)

    August 27, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Leave a comment