~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Archive for January 27, 2009

Resident Evil 5 Demo Impressions

I recently downloaded the Resident Evil 5 demo (available now on Xbox Live Marketplace for only 1 week) and I was a bit bored by how slow the game was.

Featuring  a similar gameplay style like Resident Evil 4, the demo features 2 levels, even playable via co-op online.

The graphics are really nice, and has some cool graphic effects, but I’m not really fond of shooting realistic semi-humans.

The main problem that I have is the action parts. Shooting and using the knife just feels too slow. When I played previous Resident Evil’s, they all seemed faster.The difficulty is a bit too high, and playing with a friend is fun but challenging.

I really miss the old Resident Evil games (3 and earlier iterations). Something about the later ones just don’t have that same spooky vibe. Yeah, it’s creepy, but it lacks a certain ambiance that I feared so much of.

When the game is released in a few months, I’m sure it will sell many copies, but for me, I’m not too sure if I’m going to be purchasing this game.

What are your thoughts on this game?