~ Silvercube's family-friendly blog on random entertainment and life.

Starting 2009 In Sadness, But Looking For Hope

Last night I went with a friend to downtown Miami Beach, hoping to see some fireworks and a countdown for the new year. I ended up getting much more than that.

It was my first time doing this, and I was not quite sure what to expect. We arrived around 8pm and walked through the busy crowd, looking at odds and ends from the variety of vendors on display.

We finally got a seat by the dock near the ocean, and we spent time talking and the hours flew by. Countdown approached. 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. “Happy New Year!” screamed thousands of people gathered around the Intercontinental Hotel.

Fireworks exploded into a glorious bang, and I videotaped it all with my cell phone.

After the fireworks, we departed and managed to squeeze our way through the crowd.

I still had my cell phone in my hand, wanting to look at the videos I had made. I did not get much of a chance to do so, as my phone was quickly snatched right from my hand and I screamed “My phone!” I turned around and noticed a few people right beside me. “Where is my phone?” , I asked. “We ain’t have phone,” sneered the group.

Looking into their eyes all I could see was a cold and dark void. My friend and I contacted the police on-site, just a few seconds away from where the incident took place. I told them my cell phone was stolen, and gave a description on who it was that had stolen my phone. We ran to find them…

I got lost in the crowd somewhere.. my head was just spinning and my emotions were out of control. I just felt lost, inside and out. After a few minutes, I found my friend and the police cop, and they wondered where I went. The cop said she found the group, and asked them to remove anything from their pockets, but no cell phone was found.

It’s just a moment where things can change… just in a instant… when you least expect it…

I do have MetroGuard on my cell phone, a warranty that I have been paying $4 a month over the last 2 years just in case something like this may happen. My $360 Motorola KRZR K1m is gone, and with it so many pictures and videos that encapsulated the last 2 years of my life.

I feel sad that my phone is gone, but I feel even worse for the person that stole it. How desperate that person must be to do such a horrible act in stealing another person’s belongings right in front of their eyes. Why people in this world can’t just respect other people and their property is something that will always be an issue in society.

Sure, one can isolate themselves indoors all day (much like I had wanted to instead of watching the fireworks) but everything happens for a reason and has a purpose behind it, even if we can’t see it. My phone being stolen certainly ruined a nice evening, but on the other hand, it’s experiences like these that we all face, and last night was my turn to have a bit of reality shoved in my face.

2009 might be a great year. I know it started off pretty bad, but it’s only the beginning. People may try to interfere with my life in a negative way, but it really is up to me on how I react to it. Sure, this dilemma is eating me up inside, but on the other hand, I can get another one anyways. It’s replaceable…

6 responses

  1. JUJEE

    I once had a lunch ticket stolen from me in much the same way! The kid who stole it ran, I followed him with my eyes. He was across the lunch room and I went a different way to confront him. He then blatantly lied that he didn’t have it and said he had given it to another kid. (who denied the whole thing of course.) I cried for the kid because he had sold his soul for a whopping 85 cents! How sad. I wonder what became of the kid since Jr. High? hmmm…. Hopefully, he’s learned some manners!

    I’m sorry you lost your phone! Does your warranty help you to get a new one?

    January 1, 2009 at 9:34 pm

  2. Hi JUJEE, I’m going tomorrow to my cell phone store too see if I can get another phone :)

    January 1, 2009 at 11:56 pm

  3. Dude, that is horrible. Why would someone steal a phone????? That is so pointless, cuz arent you just gonna have the phone company deactivate the phone that got stolen???

    January 2, 2009 at 1:10 am

  4. Yeah, I will be deactivating it tomorrow I hope. The phone was expensive though…

    January 2, 2009 at 1:42 am

  5. How terrible! People are so awful sometimes :( I hope everything works out for you <3

    January 9, 2009 at 8:47 pm

  6. Thanks :)

    I got a new cell phone. Still a bit painful at times, but it will heal..

    January 11, 2009 at 1:34 am

Leave a comment